“Suddenly”

I’ve done this post because, not only my friend but, plenty of writers try to use “suddenly” to emphasize how fast something happens and I find that it’s not done as effectively. In some cases, writers just get lazy and don’t describe the situation and replace ALL that description with “suddenly”. Or like in my friend’s case, she just wants to show how quickly it happens – even when she’s already described it. Because it is an adverb I find it to weaken description like they can weaken sentences, (for those who don’t know: Adverbs are adding the ‘ly’ to ‘sudden’), and I try to avoid them like the plague because it can also give you more of a challenge; finding how to write sentences without those in there.

With the “suddenly”, you’ll notice this a lot in novels, and by the time you reach the end of it and get through all the “suddenly’s”  you’ll be feeling like me; whenever there are too many repeated words my mind makes them sound like “Yesterday” and the way it’s sung in the Beetles song. Deadpan and sombre.

I just find “suddenly” is used so often that it’s lost its meaning because everyone uses suddenly when they shouldn’t or, if they’re well-known, they’ll do it just because they can. After looking through some of the synonyms, I’ve found that they aren’t as… irritating; and if you avoid using them as an adverb then it will have a better effect with your writing.

Abrupt

All at once

Direct

Fast

Haste

Immediate

Instant

Instantaneous

Pronto

Quick

Rapid

Rash

Snappy

Speedy

Straightaway

Swift

Unanticipated

Unexpected

Unforseen

Unintended

Unplanned

